car insurance news

Oregon Car Insurance Guide

Even the best drivers can have a car accident. Whether you back into another car at Safeway or a big tree branch falls on your vehicle, you want the right insurance.

Here’s how to navigate Oregon’s auto insurance options to find good coverage.

Minimum Oregon Auto Insurance Requirements

Oregon law says that car owners must buy these minimum amounts of coverage limits:

Liability insurance:

  • $25,000 for bodily injury to one person.
  • $50,000 for bodily injury to multiple people in one accident.
  • $20,000 for damage to property in one accident.

This is often written as 25/50/25.

Liability car insurance pays for the damage you do to others, whether it’s injuries or property damage. Property damage includes more than damage to other cars. It can be the neighbor’s fence you hit or a building you accidentally crash into.

If you have assets that would be at risk in a lawsuit against you, you want higher liability limits than the state minimum. That way your insurance coverage pays for legal judgments against you, instead of you dipping into savings and wages to pay.

Uninsured motorist coverage:

  • $25,000 for bodily injury to one person.
  • $50,000 for bodily injury to multiple people in one accident.
  • $20,000 for damage to property in one accident.

If you’re hit by someone with little or no insurance, your uninsured motorists coverage (UM) or underinsured motorist (UIM) coverage can kick in to pay you. Essentially, it can pay what the other driver’s insurance should have paid, if they had enough coverage.

In Oregon, UM and UIM can cover both your injuries and your property damage, such as damage to your car from the uninsured driver. UM does not pay the other driver, it pays you.

Personal injury protection, aka PIP insurance:

  • $15,000 in PIP coverage per person.

PIP insurance  was devised as a way to streamline car accident injury claims. If you sustain minor injuries in an accident, you can make a claim on your own PIP insurance,no matter who was at fault.

In addition to medical bills, PIP in Oregon will cover lost wages (70%, up to a max of $3,000 per month), funeral expenses (up to $5,000) and child care costs if you’re hospitalized (only up to $25 a day, with a $750 maximum).

What Else Should I Have?

Collision and comprehensive insurance: Collision and comprehensive coverage are usually sold as a package together and cover car damage from collisions, hail, floods, fire, falling objects and crashes with animals. In addition, comprehensive coverage pays out if your vehicle is stolen.

These coverage types are usually required if you have a car loan or lease.

Putting It All Together

Coverage type Required minimum in Oregon Better Even better
Liability insurance
  • $25,000 per person for bodily injury liability
  • $50,000 per accident for bodily injury liability
  • $20,000 for property damage
  • $100,000 per person for bodily injury liability
  • $300,000 per accident for bodily injury liability
  • $100,000 for property damage
  • $250,000 per person for bodily injury liability
  • $500,000 per accident for bodily injury liability
  • $250,000 for property damage
Uninsured motorist coverage
  • $25,000 per person for bodily injury liability
  • $50,000 per accident for bodily injury liability
  • $20,000 for property damage
  • $100,000 per person
  • $300,000 per accident
  • $250,000 per person
  • $500,000 per accident
PIP insurance $15,000 $15,000 $15,000
Collision coverage Not required Recommended Recommended
Comprehensive coverage Not required Recommended Recommended

Can I Show My Insurance ID Card from My Phone?

You can use your mobile phone to show an auto insurance ID card in Oregon. Many car insurance companies have apps that make accessing your insurance ID easy.

Average Oregon Auto Insurance Premiums

Car owners in Oregon pay an average of $877 a year for car insurance. Here are average Oregon premiums for common coverage types.

Coverage type Average premium per year in Oregon
Liability $622
Collision $239
Comprehensive $97
Source: National Association of Insurance Commissioners, 2018 Auto Insurance Database Report

Factors Allowed in Oregon Car Insurance Rates

Car insurance companies typically calculate rates by using your driving record, past claims, vehicle model and mores. In Oregon, insurers can also legally use these factors.

Factor Allowed?
Age Yes
Credit Yes
Education & occupation Yes
Gender Yes
Marital status Yes
ZIP code Yes
Source: American Property Casualty Insurance Association. Other factors will be used to calculate your rates, including driving record and the amount of coverage you want.

How Many Uninsured Drivers are in South Dakota?

About 13% of Oregon car owners have no insurance, according to the Insurance Research Council. For comparison, that’s about average and between the high of 27% in Florida and 5% in Maine.

Penalties for Driving Without Auto Insurance

If you’re caught driving with auto insurance in Oregon, the penalties can include:

  • A fine of $130 to $1,000
  • Suspension of your driver’s license for up to a year
  • Impounding of your vehicle
  • A requirement to show proof of insurance to the state for three years.

When Can a Vehicle Be Totaled?

A car can be declared totaled in Oregon when damage exceeds 80% of its retail market value.

Solving Insurance Problems

The Oregon department of insurance regulates insurance companies and takes complaints. If you have an unresolved problem with an insurance company, see this complaint information page.

Source 

Contact The Farnsworth Agency

For more information on car insurance in Oregon, or to get an Oregon Car Insurance quote, contact us today by calling (541) 318-8835 or click here.

My name is Tye Farnsworth, thank you for reading this bio! I was born and raised in Central Oregon. For an affordable insurance quote please contact me at (541) 318-8835 or connect with me online.

Follow

Get every new post on this blog delivered to your Inbox.

Join other followers: